After taking ownership of this special property in May of 2010, our priority became rejuvenation of the interior and exterior of the structure and the grounds to reflect our vision of warmth and refinement, while respecting the historical and regional character of the property. Having visited Central Vermont regularly for a number of years on family and personal pleasure trips (both of our children were longtime campers at Camp Billings on Lake Fairlee), we are so happy to be permanent residents of Woodstock and Vermont. Our hope is to integrate our experiences in the financial and educational worlds with our true passions for gardening, history and food and to make ongoing contributions to the community and to the legacy of The Jackson House Inn. We will strive to ensure that you, our guests, experience the most comfortable, pleasurable visit possible at this renowned treasure just outside the village. Rick and Kathy Terwelp
Originally constructed in 1890 as a private residence, this historic Vermont bed and breakfast continues to serve as an exemplary model of late Victorian architecture – one of the premier structures to be built in the Queen Anne style in Woodstock. Added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1993, its distinctive period details include superbly crafted woodwork and built-ins; beautifully laid floors executed in cherry, maple, oak, and pine; and touches of stained glass. Learn more about the history of this beloved property by tracing the brief timeline below.
1890: The home was built by local sawmill owner Wales N. Johnson as a private residence.
1940: The home was purchased by Robert and Christine Jackson, who opened it as a nine-room guesthouse known as The Seven Maples – in honor of the seven maple trees that lined the front grounds.
1983: Bruce McIlveen and Jack Foster purchased the property and began a massive 14-month upscale renovation expanding the house to 11 rooms.
1997: Juan and Gloria Florin added a new wing with four additional suites as well as a full-service dining restaurant, changing the name to The Jackson House Inn & Restaurant.
2006: Bernard and Jennifer English continued the property’s successful history, enriching it with their wealth of collective experience in the hospitality industry.
2010: Current owners Rick and Kathy Terwelp purchased the property, and after four months of refreshing the interior and exterior, re-opened the lodging business in September.